Thomas Bewley Madness to Mental Illness. A History of the Royal College of Psychiatrists. Online archive 37, Fellowships and scholarships

Online archive 37

Fellowships and scholarships

Peter Scott Scholarship

First awarded in 1982 and thereafter biannually from funds subscribed in memory of Dr Peter Scott and intended to encourage young doctors or medical students to further their studies in the field of forensic psychiatry or delinquency.

- 1982 Mr MJ Burton Mr AJ Mander
- 1984 Dr G Mezey
- 1986 Mr J Gration
- 1988 Miss K Ismail Miss LJ Webb Dr S Wessley
- 1990 Dr IT Bownes Mr MED Humphrey Mr AR Winstock
- 1992 Dr J Black Mr PDJ Leftwick Dr M Ward
- 1994 Dr H Sadowski Dr PL Huckle
- 1996 Dr Piyal Sen Dr John Milton
- 1998 Dr M Taylor
- 2000 Scholarship withdrawn

Squibb Travelling Fellowship

A fellowship, awarded in 1985, 1986 and 1987 for travel abroad for study, research or clinical training. The funding from Squibb was withdrawn in 1988

- 1985 Dr I McKeith (research in the United States on the neuropathology of the brains of the mentally ill)
- 1986 Dr C Fitzgerald (research in Boston, USA, on psychiatric disorders and their treatment in children with physical disabilities)
- 1987 Dr J Scott (visit to centres in the United States to gain experience of training programmes and study the application of Leonard Stein's model, the COSTAR programme, in an urban setting)

Natalie Cobbing Travelling Fellowship (biennial international prize)

A biennial fellowship awarded for travel overseas to individuals wishing to extend their experience in the psychiatry of mental handicap.

This prize was discontinued after 2002 as the funds were exhausted.

- 1986 Dr A Holland (training and research in the USA in the genetics of Downs Syndrome and its relationship to Alzheimer's disease)
- 1988 Dr M Bambrick 1990 no entries
- 1992 Dr M Morris
- 1994 Dr Sally-Ann Cooper/Dr VP Prashner
- 1996 Dr Verinder Paul Prashner
- 1998 Dr A Thomas
- 2000 Dr A Hassiotis
- 2002 Dr R Alexander

Eli Lilly Travelling Fellowship (annual international prize)

This Fellowship is open to College members in the UK and Ireland for expenses for travel abroad for not less than three months for further study, research or clinical training. It is open to members of senior registrar or lecturer grade or recently appointed consultants.

- 1990 Dr Michael Morris
- 1991 Dr C Pantelis
- 1992 Dr IT Bownes
- 1993 Dr Claire Hilton
- 1994 Dr Broadhead/Dr Sharma
- 1995 Dr Tonmoy Sharma
- 1996 no information
- 1997 Dr Katherine Aitchison
- 1998 Dr Henrika Klasen/Dr David Meagher
- 1999 Dr Adrej Marusic
- 2000 Dr Dasha Nicholls
- 2001 Dr Sameer P Sarkar
- 2002 Dr Lucinda Cockayne
- 2003 Dr. Evangelia Tsapakis
- 2004 Prize discontinued

Lundbeck Teaching Fellowship

The Lundbeck Teaching Fellowship was money provided by Lundbeck to cover travel and other expenses of a teaching fellow selected by the College Overseas Liaison Committee. The first award was in 1991; there were no entries after 1996 and it was discontinued in 2000.

- 1991 Winners: Dr C Cordero, Chile and Professor A Jabelensky, Bulgaria Visitors: Chile: Dr T Harrison, Bulgaria: Dr D Storer
- 1992 Winners: Dr C Oancea, Romania and Professor J Insua, Argentina Visitors: Romania: Drs S Lewis and M Shooter, Argentina: Professor R McClelland
- 1993 Winners: Dr S Gluzman, Ukraine and Professor J Insua, Argentina Visitors: Drs T Berney and D Holman, Ukraine and Professor R McClelland, Argentina
- 1994 Winners:Dr. N Temple, Nigeria and Dr T Burns, India Visitors: Drs T. Berney and D. Holman, Ukraine

1996 Dr D Murphy, Hong Kong

Ferdinande Johanna Kanjilal Travelling Fellowship

Established from funds donated by Dr GC Kanjilal in memory of his wife; awarded every two years to cover expenses of senior trainees in psychiatry overseas who want to come to the UK or Ireland for a short period of further study, research or clinical training.

- 1993 Dr Ekanem-Thompson
- 1995 Dr Maria das Gracas de Oliveira
- 1997 no entries
- 1999 no entries
- 2001 monies used to fund attendance at annual meeting
- 2002 Dr Linda Farzana Kader
- 2004 Not awarded

Kenneth Rawnsley Travelling Fellowship

A travelling fellowship which was offered to fund travel and living expenses within the UK for candidates to carry out work and research in their chosen specialty .

- 1997 Mrs A Vorotyntseva
- 1998, 1999 no entries
- 2000 Dr K Kuruppuarachchi
- 2001 Money used to fund annual meeting attendance
- 2002 Prize discontinued