Online archive 38

Other miscellaneous awards

In this online archive I have noted various prizes and awards which have come and gone.

Smith Kline Beecham Prize

This prize, for best short paper presentations at meetings appears to have only been awarded once.

1992 Drs S Oke and A Malizia

Alec Shapiro Prize

This was first awarded in 1996 and is in memory of Dr A Shapiro, who died in 1988. It is awarded to two trainees annually.

(Poster)		(Oral)
1996	Dr E. Gralton	
1997	Dr A. Thomas	Dr Nicola Bailey
1998	Dr Craig Melville	Dr Steve Hinder
1999	Dr R-T. Alexander	Dr Rachel Forsyth
2000	Dr Fabian Haut	Dr Mhairi Duff
2001	Dr Rachel Forsyth (Poster)	Dr Farooq Ahmad (verbal)
2002	Dr Kirsty Passmore (Poster)	Dr Ipsita Mitra (verbal)
2003	Dr Andre Strydom	Dr Ross Overshott
2004	Dr Evan Yacoub	Dr Elita Smiley
2005		

Margaret Davenport Prize

Margaret Davenport was an expert in child abuse and child sexual abuse, whose family made a bequest to the Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Faculty for a prize in her memory. Its aim was to encourage quality in trainee presentations.

1998 Dr J. Morrell1999 Not awarded2000 Dr R. Smyth2001 Dr T. Ford2002 Dr J. Oliver

Standish-Barry Prize

Dr Standish-Barry made a bequest to the Irish Division for a prize for the best results by an Irish graduate (including Northern Ireland) in the MRCPsych examination Part II examination. It was established in 1998.

1999	Dr John Brady
2000	Dr Brendan Kelly & Dr Eileen McNamara (Joint winners)
2001	Not awarded
2002	Dr Sheila Tighe
2003	
2004	Dr Anne M. Feeley

Scottish Division Research Prize

A prize open to all psychiatrists under 40 working in Scotland and first awarded in 2001

2001 Dr A Carson 2002 Dr A. Hull

McHarg Essay Prize

Scottish Division prize awarded annually for the best essay by a psychiatric trainee in Scotland.

2001 Dr Robby Steel
2002
2003 Dr Dinah Bennett
2004 Not awarded. Prize discontinued.

Mohsen Naguib Prize (Annual Old Age Psychiatry Prize)

Originally established by the Faculty of Old Age Psychiatry in 1993 and formally established by the College in 1998 in memory of Dr Mohsen Naguib and awarded for the best short paper by a trainee in Old Age Psychiatry.

2001	Dr A Denihan
2002	Dr I Popescu
2003	Dr Pam Stevenson
2004	Dr Aisling Denihan
2005	Dr Elizabeth Starren

Douglas Bennet Prize

Established in 2002

2002	Dr Theresa Tattan
2003	DrPaul Blenkiron
2004	Dr Helen Killaspy/Dr Peter Lepping

Best Poster Presentation at the Faculty Annual Meeting (annual)

Year	Name
2002	First year of prize
2003	Dr Gill Pinner
	Dr Walter Pierre Bouman
2004	Dr Ross Overshott
2002	first year of prize

Irish Division Prize

The Spike Milligan Trophy and Prize (annual)

Year	Name
2002	First year of prize
2003	
2004	Trinity College Dublin
2005	

Wyeth Travelling Fellowship

This was proposed in 1987 and was for a Pakistani psychiatrist to receive training in the UK. The archives include correspondence and extracts from minutes regarding the proposal but no evidence of the award of the fellowship

The College was to be involved in the short-listing of candidates but the final choice between eligible candidates was to be made in Pakistan.