Online archive 30

Other officers

The names of the Officers of the Association and College have varied over time. There was a Secretary from 1841 to 1971 when the post became the Registrar of the College. The post of Treasurer continued from 1841 to the present. The post of Editor was first created in 1853. At times there was more than one Editor and I have included the names of all of these. I also list those who were the Editors in Chief.

In 1892 the M.P.A created a new post called Registrar. His functions were concerned with the education of attendants and nurses and the keeping of a Register of trained mental nurses which continued until 1919 when the General Nursing Council took over the responsibility for the registration of all nurses. In 1971 the name of this post which had been concerned with all types of psychiatric education was changed to that of Dean. There was no official post of Librarian until 1926 but the Chairman of the Library was *de facto* Librarian. The Research Unit was founded in 1987 and has had two Directors.

SECRETARY OR CHIEF EXECUTIVE

In the early days of the Association there were no paid staff. Some part-time staff were appointed when the M.P.A. took a room in Lettsom House. There were only four members of staff (some part-time) when the College was founded in 1971. There are now over 100 and the post of Secretary to the College was renamed Chief Executive.

1

GENERAL SECRETARIES OF THE ASSOCIATION

1847–1855 W. Williams 1855–1862 C.L. Robertson 1862–1872 T.H. Tuke 1872–1873 T. Christie 1873–1878 W.R. Williams 1878–1889 H. Rayner 1889–1896 F. Beach 1896–1897 R.P. Smith 1897–1906 R. Jones 1906–1912 C.H. Bond 1912–1918 M.A. Collins – jointly with R.H. Steen from 1915 1915–1919 R.H. Steen 1919–1936 R. Worth 1936–1945 W.G. Masefield 1945–1950 K.K. Drury 1950–1957 R.W. Armstrong 1957–1971 A.B. Monro	1841–1851	S. Hitch – jointly with W. Williams from 1847
1862–1872 T.H. Tuke 1872–1873 T. Christie 1873–1873 W.R. Williams 1878–1889 H. Rayner 1889–1896 F. Beach 1896–1897 R.P. Smith 1897–1906 R. Jones 1906–1912 C.H. Bond 1912–1918 M.A. Collins – jointly with R.H. Steen from 1915 1915–1919 R.H. Steen 1919–1936 R. Worth 1936–1945 W.G. Masefield 1945–1950 K.K. Drury 1950–1957 R.W. Armstrong	1847–1855	W. Williams
1872–1873T. Christie1873–1878W.R. Williams1873–1878W.R. Williams1878–1889H. Rayner1889–1896F. Beach1896–1897R.P. Smith1897–1906R. Jones1906–1912C.H. Bond1912–1918M.A. Collins – jointly with R.H. Steen from 19151915–1919R.H. Steen1919–1936R. Worth1936–1945W.G. Masefield1945–1950K.K. Drury1950–1957R.W. Armstrong	1855-1862	C.L. Robertson
1873–1878W.R. Williams1873–1889H. Rayner1889–1896F. Beach1896–1897R.P. Smith1897–1906R. Jones1906–1912C.H. Bond1912–1918M.A. Collins – jointly with R.H. Steen from 19151915–1919R.H. Steen1919–1936R. Worth1936–1945W.G. Masefield1945–1950K.K. Drury1950–1957R.W. Armstrong	1862–1872	T.H. Tuke
1878–1889H. Rayner1889–1896F. Beach1896–1897R.P. Smith1897–1906R. Jones1906–1912C.H. Bond1912–1918M.A. Collins – jointly with R.H. Steen from 19151915–1919R.H. Steen1919–1936R. Worth1936–1945W.G. Masefield1945–1950K.K. Drury1950–1957R.W. Armstrong	1872–1873	T. Christie
1889–1896F. Beach1896–1897R.P. Smith1897–1906R. Jones1906–1912C.H. Bond1912–1918M.A. Collins – jointly with R.H. Steen from 19151915–1919R.H. Steen1919–1936R. Worth1936–1945W.G. Masefield1945–1950K.K. Drury1950–1957R.W. Armstrong	1873–1878	W.R. Williams
1896–1897R.P. Smith1897–1906R. Jones1906–1912C.H. Bond1912–1918M.A. Collins – jointly with R.H. Steen from 19151915–1919R.H. Steen1919–1936R. Worth1936–1945W.G. Masefield1945–1950K.K. Drury1950–1957R.W. Armstrong	1878–1889	H. Rayner
1897–1906 R. Jones 1906–1912 C.H. Bond 1912–1918 M.A. Collins – jointly with R.H. Steen from 1915 1915–1919 R.H. Steen 1919–1936 R. Worth 1936–1945 W.G. Masefield 1945–1950 K.K. Drury 1950–1957 R.W. Armstrong	1889–1896	F. Beach
1906–1912C.H. Bond1912–1918M.A. Collins – jointly with R.H. Steen from 19151915–1919R.H. Steen1919–1936R. Worth1936–1945W.G. Masefield1945–1950K.K. Drury1950–1957R.W. Armstrong	1896–1897	R.P. Smith
1912–1918M.A. Collins – jointly with R.H. Steen from 19151915–1919R.H. Steen1919–1936R. Worth1936–1945W.G. Masefield1945–1950K.K. Drury1950–1957R.W. Armstrong	1897–1906	R. Jones
1915–1919R.H. Steen1919–1936R. Worth1936–1945W.G. Masefield1945–1950K.K. Drury1950–1957R.W. Armstrong	1906–1912	C.H. Bond
1919–1936R. Worth1936–1945W.G. Masefield1945–1950K.K. Drury1950–1957R.W. Armstrong	1912–1918	M.A. Collins – jointly with R.H. Steen from 1915
1936–1945W.G. Masefield1945–1950K.K. Drury1950–1957R.W. Armstrong	1915–1919	R.H. Steen
1945–1950K.K. Drury1950–1957R.W. Armstrong	1919–1936	R. Worth
1950–1957 R.W. Armstrong	1936–1945	W.G. Masefield
e	1945–1950	K.K. Drury
1957–1971 A.B. Monro	1950–1957	R.W. Armstrong
	1957–1971	A.B. Monro

Registrars of the College

1971–1972	A.B. Monro
1972–1978	M. Markowe
1978–1983	G.C. Timbury
1983–1988	R.G. Priest
1988–1993	Ann M.G. Gath
1993–1997	C. Thompson
1997-2001	M. Shooter
2002-	A. Fairbairn

Treasurers of the Association

1841–1854	S. Hitch
1854–1862	W. Ley
1862–1894	J. Paul
1894–1917	H.H. Newington
1917–1931	J. Chambers
1931–1946	G.W. Smith
1947–1962	T. Tennent

1962–1971 W. Warren

Treasurers of the College

1971–1979	W. Warren
1979–1986	C.M.B. Pare
1986–1993	W.D. Boyd
1993–1999	I. Kolvin
1999–2006	F. Subotsky

Editors (Association)

J. Bucknill
C.L. Robertson
C.L. Robertson and H. Maudsley
H. Maudsley and John Sibbald
H. Maudsley and T.S. Clouston
T.S. Clouston, D. Hack Tuke, Geo. H. Savage
D. Hack Tuke and Geo. H. Savage
H. Rayner, Conolly Norman, A.R. Urquhart & e. Goodall
H. Rayner, Connolly Norman and A.R. Urquhart
H. Rayner, A.R. Urquhart and J. Chambers
J. Chambers, John R. Lloyd & Lewis C. Bruce
J. Chambers, J.R. Lloyd, L.C. Bruce, T. Draper
J.R. Lord, T. Draper, H. Devine, G.D. McRae
J.R. Lord, T. Draper
J.R. Lord, H. Devine, G.D. McRae, W.R. Dawson
J.R. Lord, H. Devine, G.D. McRae
J.R. Lord, G.D. McRae, T. Beaton
J.R. Lord, G.D. McRae, H.H. Smith, A. Walk
D. McRae, M.H. Smith, A. Walk
D. McRae, M.H. Smith, A. Walk, G.W.T.H. Fleming
D. McRae, A. Walk, G.W.T.H. Fleming, L.S. Penrose
G.W.T.H. Fleming
E. Slater

Editors in Chief (Association)

1853–1861	J. Bucknill
1862–1870	C.L. Robertson
1871–1878	H. Maudsley

1879–1881	T.S. Clouston
1882–1894	D. Hack Tuke
1895–1911	H. Rayner
1912–1915	J. Chambers
1916–1931	J.R. Lord
1932–1938	D. McRae
1939–1961	G.W.T.H. Fleming
1961–1971	E. Slater

Editors (College)

1972–1977	E.H. Hare
1977–1984	J. Crammer
1984–1993	H. Freeman
1993-2003	G. Wilkinson
2003-	P. Tyrer

Registrars of the Association

1892–1899	J. B. Spence
1899–1902	H. Benham
1902–1923	A. Millar
1923–1924	H.B. Leech (acting)
1924–1937	D. Rambaut
1937–1938	N.R. Philips
1938–1947	H.G.L. Haynes
1947–1952	J.L. Russell
1952–1971	W. Sargant

Deans of the College

1971–1977	K. Rawnsley
1977–1982	T.H. Bewley
1982–1985 1985–1988	J.L.T. Birley A.C.P. Sims
1988–1991	Fiona Caldicott
1993–1998	J.L. Cox
1998–2003	C.L.E. Katona
2003-	D. Bhugra

Librarian, Medico-Psychological Association

1908–1926 H. Rayner

Librarian, Royal Medico-Psychological Association

1926–1971 A.A. Walk

Librarians of the College

1971–1976	D. Leigh
1976–1981	H. Rollin
1981–1986	G. Berrios
1986-2001	I. Pullen
2001-	D. Tait

Directors of Research Unit

1988–1994	J. Wing
1994–	P. Lelliott

Secretary and Chief Executive

RMPA

1946–1952	I. Monro
1953–1957	M. Walk
1958	J. Ladlaw
1959–1971	N. Cobbing

College

1972–1984	N. Cobbing
1984–	V. Cameron